A Tribute to Leroy


I keep an eye on Petfinder.com in the event that a Devon Rex appears in an area shelter.  Not that I need the chaos of three cats (and a husband), but…..

One morning I came across a posting. In New York City. A 9 hour drive each way, but do-able.

His name was Leroy.

I immediately emailed the shelter:

Hello,

My husband & I are not really looking for another cat but ran across Leroy’s photo and fell in love. He is a cutie!

I am allergic to cats but have two Devon Rex’s, Rascal & Jackson ages 5 1/2 months and 7 months and my allergies seem fine. I was very excited to find this breed.

Anyway, I am wondering what you think about adding a 3rd cat to the mix since you know Leroy’s personality.

My Rascal (the older one) was very upset when we brought home Jackson but now they are best buds, sleeping together, grooming each other, wrestling, etc. Rascal does get very jealous and a bit stressed and pouts if he sees me holding or playing with Jackson. Overall he is a really loving cat but a bit needy. He wanders around the house meowing if he can’t see me or Jackson. We have had many “playdates” with the neighbor’s 2 older Devon Rex’s and Rascal loves visiting and gets along great with the other cats.

Jackson (the baby) just loves life, he is excited to wake up, run, eat, play; he is just happy in general – he purrs 24/7. He doesn’t like to be cuddled as much as Rascal but would chase bottle caps forever. Jackson is a bit skiddish. He doesn’t like when other people visit and doesn’t seem to like the “playdates” with the neighbors.

So with Rascal’s jealousy and Jackson being skiddish I am on the fence about a third. But Leroy seems so loving and mine are still just kittens, so maybe it will work. I hate seeing the little guy stuck in a shelter.

The response was almost instantaneous:

You sound just terrific.

Did you notice that Leroy (his street name) is diabetic.
That is totally do-able. but it is a chore.
I love Lee, because he is this quiet adorable guy who doesn’t seem to know there are any other cats around.
He is adorable.
Be in touch.

Joan Victor

I called Joan.  We hit it off immediately and chatted for almost an hour about Leroy.  Someone left him on the street, he was in rough shape.  He had been under close supervision at the vet for quite some time, but was ready to find a “forever home”.   It was very clear that Joan was completely head over heels for this little guy.  He was special.

She takes homeless animals in her home, an apartment in NYC, she is not allowed to have pets.  She invests time and money and truly loves them all – but Leroy was very special to her…

John and I talked about Leroy for hours.  Was it fair to take this little guy away from the only people who ever loved him?  And what about medical care – at that point we didn’t really know the vets in our area and we were a 3 hour drive from Angel Medical in Boston….  It wasn’t an easy decision.  I was already in love with him even though we hadn’t met.  I wrote back to Joan…

We thought a lot about Leroy over the weekend.

I guess we imagined him living in a shelter inside of a cage for the rest of his life…. Since most people that we meet think Devon’s are not cute we were afraid that he would never be adopted and the poor thing would spend life in a cage.

What we found out is that he is now in your home (not in a shelter), you really love him, your husband is a doctor and you have a vet in a big city….

I have only known our vet for 3 months, I like him but don’t have much experience with his practice. I feel like Leroy is better off with you. I would feel awful if we took him and something happened that wouldn’t have happened in your care because of your support system with the vet & your husband. We would love him as much as you would but we don’t think it is fair to take him away from what you are providing 😦

This was her response:

Linda,

I sat at the computer last night and could not email you.
Now I will, having read your last email.

LEROY died Friday.
I and Dr. Marv are shattered;
we did not realize how much we cared about his well-being.
I wanted him to live long enough to feel loved and that he had a home – either with me or you.
Remember Leroy, please.
You will, because that picture of him is unforgettable.
I want Leroy to be cared about, have his little life important.

Joan

I couldn’t believe it.  I cried.  John cried.  I will always remember Leroy and Joan, they have a special place in my heart.

I responded:

I am so so so sorry to hear that and very sad. I am crying as I read your message and write this and I did not even know him. I can’t imagine what you are going through. It was clear to me from talking to you last week that you loved him very much, so I am VERY sure that he also felt your love.

I will remember Leroy. He really was a cutie. Leroy was cared for and his life was important. I guess I didn’t realize how much we had become to think of him as ours even though in the end we decided he would have a better life with you. It was very hard for me to send you the email earlier today, I didn’t want you to think that he was not wanted, it was not an easy decision for us, we had already come to think of him as ours and were telling Jackson & Rascal that they were getting a brother – I even showed them pictures 🙂

A week later I wrote:

I can’t stop feeling sad about poor little Leroy – my kitties have definitely gotten some extra love this week. John and I would like to make a donation to your shelter in Leroy’s name. Please forward me an address and let me know to whom I should make out the check. Hoping it will help some other animals until they can find good homes. If you do not accept private donations I can do something for our local shelter in his name please just let me know.

Joan responded:

Your caring makes me  cry.
There are few people like you.
Our charity is

2000 Spays and Neuters
863 Park Ave.
New York, NY 10075

and we are way poor.
So thank you.
I am still SAD about Leroy.Very painful.

Donald Ortiz rescued Leroy – Leroy was a fixture in the Harlem neighborhood.

People fed him because I guess they felt sorry for him, but he had an air of nobility about him that made people notice: a cat that looked like he did had dignity. Leroy was an urban legend! People would say to him, “Let’s go around the corner and get something to eat….” and he would follow them. 

A memory that makes me smile about Leroy: he never acknowledged any other cat in my home; he just didn’t see them. Maybe he did not know he was a cat. 

But – I have this large dog (who loves cats) – and everytime Leroy saw Bernie-the-dog, he stopped in his tracks, and went “Whoa” in utter amazement, even if he had seen the dog 10 minutes before. 

We do miss Leroy. 

I cannot wait to meet you.
Joan, your new friend 

Joan and I have never met, but someday we will…

Remember Leroy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Tribute to Leroy

  1. ~Trish KatWrangler says:

    Leroy’s story has me in tears. But he lived his last days with people who loved him, and that’s what he remembered. Bless you ALL.

  2. Sally says:

    Some of us are on his earth for only a little while but the mark we leave on others hearts is what counts. Leroy has left his paw prints on many hearts …… .mine included !

  3. Melissa Gandee says:

    This truly is a sweet story and I will remember Leroy, Joan, John and Linda. This is how these beautiful animals should be loved and tears me up the abuse many endure. I love reading these types of rescue stories, your love was felt. Bless the work done like this everywhere. Thank you..

Leave a comment