Jackson’s First Disappearance


Jackson had been part of the family for about a week when I finally had the nerve to leave him alone (separated from Rascal of course) while I went grocery shopping.  While I was gone, John would be home with the boys; not all that comforting since he couldn’t seem to remember to close the toilet seat or keep the door to his workshop closed. 

I would only be gone for a few hours; 1/2 hour drive each way to Hannaford and an hour to shop.  I must admit that I was anxious.

I shopped in record time.  When I arrived home, John’s car was gone.  Rascal ran to greet me.  I went to see Jackson. His “playpen” was empty.  My stomach sank, where was he?  Then I noticed that the cat carrier was also missing.  I panicked, there must have been an accident. I prayed for something minor.

I called John’s cell – no answer.  I tried chain calling him – 5 times (okay maybe 25), no answer.  I called North Country Animal Hospital – they had not heard from John nor did they have Jackson. I wondered if John had perhaps taken him to a different animal hospital.  I paced.  I called John’s cell again and again.

Rascal and I cuddled while we anxiously waited for some news.

An hour later, in strolls John with Jackson in his cat carrier.  I freak out.  Totally freak out.

John is honestly bewildered, “Why are you so upset? The cat is fine. I brought him to Lucy’s Hardware, pushed him around in the shopping cart, and then brought him to J-Town Deli to meet “everybody”, I didn’t want to leave him home alone, I thought he would be scared; I rescued him from the orphanage you know, he is special to me”.

You are kidding me, right?  A cat in the hardware store?   And I am the crazy cat person? I think not!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Jackson’s First Disappearance

  1. Jules says:

    Ohhh that’s hilarious! I love your Devon stories.

Leave a comment