A Foster Cat


My neighbors Edith & Bob asked if I would keep an eye on their cat Jasmine during their 10-day vacation.  I was a bit hesitant as poor little Jasmine wouldn’t get any cuddling for 10 days, due to my allergies, but I agreed.

Day 1 –  I arrived, armed with Benadryl, determined to at least pet Jasmine (a long-haired beautiful black cat), then planned to wash my hands quickly, keeping them away from my face with hopes to minimize the reaction.  But…Jasmine had other ideas.  She wanted to be up on my lap, paws on my shoulder, giving me head butts and rubbing herself all over my face.

I will admit that I was a bit freaked.  But….no allergic reaction at all, none!!   Well, perhaps a little, but very mild.  But, days 2-10 I spent at least 30 minutes a day with Jasmine climbing all over me and had NO reaction.

Wow, crazy….

Perhaps the Devons had slowly caused my immunity! I could now volunteer at the local Conway animal shelter!  I reckoned I could begin with cats (and take allergy medicine – given the overwhelming number of cats in one place) and then move on to data entry or laundry if my allergies were uncooperative.

I spent my first day cleaning cat cages in a small room with about 30 cats.  I had no allergic reaction at all, none!!  Okay, a little swelling where Lulu scratched my knuckle while we were playing, but that’s it!!

I met Bow that first day.  Bow was a regal black male Manx who had been at the shelter for several months. He cowered inside his kitty litter pan 24 x 7.  His eyes widened in horror when anyone approached or offered him attention.  I was drawn to him.

His coloring, eyes and personality reminded me of my baby Jackson.   When the doorbell rings, Daisy and Rascal curiously bound to the door to great our visitors.  Jackson scurries in sheer terror to a hiding spot where he remains until the visitors are long gone.  If something happened to John and I, and our cats found their way to a shelter, I could imagine Jackson having the same reaction as Bow.

For a few days I thought of Bow constantly – I visited daily and soon he responded!  He sniffed my fingers, allowed me to scratch his chin, played with a piece of yarn (ever so briefly) and took a cat treat from my hand.

 

Yes, he was a “regular” cat, but I fell in love anyway.  I hated that he was so terrified of the shelter environment.  Most of the other cats seemed happy and well-adjusted  – some who had been there for 2 years!

One afternoon (perhaps on day 4), in walked a potential adopter.  A creepy looking man who was in short supply of teeth.  He mentioned that he lived in a trailer park down the road and was seeking a declawed cat to befriend his dog…  Bow was the ONLY declawed cat in the shelter.  Maybe I was overreacting and the man would offer an animal a nice home, but I didn’t think he would be a fit for MY Bow.  Luckily no shelter employees were present – as the man approached Bow’s cage, I fibbed and told him Bow was taken.  Hence my start as a foster mom.

Bow accompanied me home that afternoon.  We spent his first night in the bathroom.  Me on a twin mattress, Bow cowering behind the toilet and Rascal incessantly scratching and meowing at the door, not understanding why his mommy locked him out.  At 2AM, I was awakened by a purring cat aggressively rubbing his head against my hand and face, begging for affection. He was so sweet. I petted him for what seemed like hours in the darkness, until he curled up to sleep at my feet…at dawn he retreated to the safety of the shower stall.

250220_1747690660763_1812255_n

Rascal, Jackson & Daisy were distraught that I hadn’t been with them all night. I don’t think they slept.  I placed Bow on the 3-season porch and shut the screen door, so my three “crazies” could see him and I could “be” with all four cats as I sipped my morning coffee. I finally let them all onto the porch.  Bow hissed a few times, but there was no aggression as I had feared.  My alpha Rascal seemed to sense that this cat was fearful and uninterested in robbing his throne.

(3 of 7)

When Bow hissed at Jackson,  Jacks rolled onto his back and flailed his paws in the air as if to say “I just want to play”.  Later that morning, Daisy made an attempt at a playful pounce  – Bow didn’t hiss at her, but gave her a look like “you’re kidding me, right”? – this caused her retreat. But, within a few days, Bow would tolerate “the crazies” sniffing his butt and nose.  He began to sniff them back.

253428_1766948662201_782822_n

But, Four cats?  My husband, friends and neighbors thought I was nuts!  I sent out an appeal to my Facebook friends (and mother), hoping to find him a good quiet home.  In the mean time, my step-daughter Katie fell in love.  She befriended Bow by visiting his bathroom hideaway nightly and soon discovered that he was enthralled with the laser pointer.  When the laser was on, Bow’s fears were dispelled and he bounced crazily around my office, shuffling on his belly in an attempt to “catch” the light beam, unaware of his surroundings – he continued for hours, never tiring.  He was too cute!

247174_1766990903257_6237372_n

Over the next two weeks we all bonded, except John that is….  John had been in Florida, Singapore and Boston on business.  He arrived home exhausted but excited to meet our latest addition.  Bow was terrified!  I have never seen a cat so scared in my life.  Of course we have nicknamed John “Fred Flintstone” (he’s anything but quiet and mellow)….  Bow had begun to venture out of the bathroom shower stall and into my office.  But the sound of John’s voice or footsteps from another part of the house sent him reeling back to the shower.

Bow came out of his shell when John was out of his earshot.  He would lie by my feet while I surfed the web.  I talked and sang to him (he seemed to like “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music) and was rewarded by Bow jumping on my lap, purring loudly, giving me head butts and begging to be petted.   The first time this occurred, Rascal was a bit jealous and gave Bow a paw slap in the face (which was slightly comical given that Bow is at least three times bigger and twice his weight), Bow jumped down and Rascal assumed his position on my lap.  But this only occurred once.  As  the days passed, Rascal became unconcerned with sharing his mother.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I slept on my office couch at night so that all four cats could be with me (I first tried the bedroom which freaked Bow out!)   My three Devons joined me on the couch (a tight squeeze) while Bow relaxed on the nearby window sill in the darkness, returning to his bathroom shower stall at sunrise.

My friend Pam mentioned that she would adopt him.  I was torn.  I loved Bow.  But, whenever I wasn’t around he just laid in the shower stall awaiting my return.  Pam worked from home, he would receive lots of love and more attention than I could offer.  She had two mellow cats, nothing like my “crazies”.  Her husband Chris was soft-spoken, mellow and a “cat whisperer”.  Sadly, Pam had recently lost her dad with whom she was very close.  I thought maybe Bow would give her some love to help her through the tough days.

249238_1766950262241_7340538_n

After much debate, I decided (with some counseling from my neighbor Pam) that it was best to give up my lovebug.  I made the trek to Abington, MA (about 4 hours away), in the midst of tornado warnings (which ultimately destroyed a large portion of the Springfield area).  I will admit that I cried for the first 45 minutes of the drive.  Bow seemed quite relaxed throughout the journey as if he knew he was headed for a great life.

Upon arrival, Bow planted himself under Pam’s bed.  I worried during the drive home and all night.  I mentioned again to Pam that I would take him back if things didn’t work out.

Her first message worried me, but she has so much love to give, I had high hopes she would win him over:

Bow is back under the bed, he was laying in the litter box for a while. He had some dust on his nose (not that there is any dust under my bed…ha ha) and he let me wipe it off with a tissue. He ate all of his supper and I put some water under the bed for him. I’ve got a close eye on him. Chris will think I’m nuts but, I’ll try the singing. I’ll tell him you send hugs and kisses.

And the next morning a happy message:

Bow laid down on the couch with me last night and purred away! I was so happy. He and Gizmo were up all night just following each other around. He did come up on the bed a couple of times during the night too. He’s under the bed sleeping now…exhausted from pulling an all-nighter!

and the following day:

He is a little afraid of Chris but I think it’s because he’s not here all day like I am. I’ve been staying up with him at night because that’s when he comes out of hiding. He and Gizmo played with the laser pointer and he took a nap on the couch with me. He sat in the window looking at out for a long time and seemed to like that. He is sleeping under a chair right now. Nothing wrong with his appetite! I think he is going to be fine, just needs a little more time to adjust. He is so sweet!..

A month later:

I wanted to let you know that Bo is out much more during the day . He eats with Harvey and Gizmo now instead of under the bed! At 4am this morning he came up on the bed with us, snuggled right up to Chris! Chris was patting him and he was purring away! I was so glad. Bo seems to be adjusting, sometimes looks like he thinks he owns the place when he’s walkling around. He and Gizmo play everyday together and talk to one another. I think Bo is pretty happy. We love him 🙂

And finally:

Remember when you said that you thought Bo was sent to bring me a little happiness and take my mind off things sometimes? You were right 🙂

I will miss you Bow (now renamed Bo), thanks for touching my life!521821_10200273250335419_1801927866_n 577749_10200631055200317_167622620_n

302068_2540344629432_1229714112_n284065_2201484558142_4788095_n292478_4299796414627_656641033_n

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment